top of page
  • Writer's pictureChelsea C

Your Favorite Teacher



Close your eyes and think of your favorite teacher. When you clearly see them, take a moment and think of one word that describes them.

Got it?

For me, I'm torn between two teachers who changed my life more than I think they even realize: Mr. Corey of 10th grade and Mrs. V of 11th and 12th grade.

I'd describe Mr. Corey as sincere, and Mrs. V as happy.

What was your word?

This next question is important:

Does this word have anything to do with that teacher's content knowledge? Is it related to the way they write their lesson plans or test scores?

I'm willing to wager that most people used a word that describes that teacher's personality or what they've done for you.

For me, the fact that Mr. Corey spent his lunch counseling me and just listening impacted my life in a way that gave me hope. Words that he recalled from a poster gave me a new life motto: Hang in There.

Mrs. V 's happiness inspired me to strive for that success, because as a teacher she is not only phenomenal, but her love for her students and her career shines through effortlessly. Worrying about grades and lesson plans never seemed to bring her down, even though I'm sure it was in the back of her mind. She was always happy and present for her students, and I hope I am half the teacher that she is.

So I ask you: what makes your favorite teacher your favorite? How does that affect the teacher that you are and who you want to become?

I hope you take a moment and reach out to those teachers if they're still around, and I hope you thank them. Furthermore, I hope you have a student who finds you someday and they thank you, and I hope you don't take your efforts for granted.

Thank you for doing what you do.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page